Home / Location


Port St Johns Local Municipality (PSJLM) is located in the north-eastern portion of the Eastern Cape Province, in the former homeland of Transkei. The eastern and north-eastern boundary is formed partly by the psj2Mzintlava River and Ingquza Hill Municipality, whilst Indian Ocean is to the south and south-eastern. The Mnenu River and Nyandeni Municipality area make up the western boundary. It has one town on the mouth of Umzimvubu River, Port St Johns, which is approximately 90km from Mthatha.

PSJ municipality has a strong tourism industry, which is well-supported by the variety of hills, dunes, rivers, and the mountainous terrain that meet its picturesque beaches. In terms of settlement pattern, the municipal area is characterized by a predominantly scattered rural settlement pattern with approximately 130 communities/villages distributed over the municipal area of 1 301 km² at an average density of 126 persons/ km². Nearly 90% of all the dwellings in the municipality are located in traditional tribal settlements.




The municipality is by and large a rural municipality with 20 wards spreading all over approximately 130 rural villages which are supported by a small urban centre of Port St Johns (ward 6). Port St Johns as the only town, is both the administration and council sit of the Municipality. The figure below shows wards within our boundaries.